Posted in Advisories, Questions, Writing

Is Popularity that Big of a Deal?

Hey Bloggers! Sorry I wasn’t posting for the last couple days. I am still sick with a virus that will not completely go away!! Anyways, the question of the day is: Is popularity that big of a deal?

195.jpg

Lots of people are insecure and make friends instantly (even if the friends are not friends) . And lots of people also don’t have any friends, and go with the “popular” group to not be alone. But there are also different ways to be popular.

The “middle school” popular. Middle school. Ugh. As I said, insecure girls want to “fit in” , especially new girls. To understand this, the movie Mean Girls fully explains this in high school. It’s hilarious. I just do not understand why people in middle or high school want to be popular. What does “popular” even mean? I mean, will being popular in school help you in the future? No, no it won’t. This is ridiculous.

The “social media” popular, which is the sadest type of popular.  In one of my most recent posts, What will happen if We Stop Using Social Media I explain how social media is destroying us and what would happen if we quit using it. Constantly being on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat and other social media locks us up in this internet world, by ourselves, in front of the computer. Hoping to get new followers is not the worst thing in the world, but in a sense is not good. Yes, I hope my blog will gain traffic because I cannot express myself like this in the real world, although I wish I could. I ask questions I answer myself, and show the real me. But hoping to get more Instagram just to “look good” is another story.

 

I wouldn’t want to popular, even if I had a choice. I always ask myself why people want to be popular. I would rather have one or two friends that are trustworthy, mentally strong, loyal, kind, funny, and smart to me than 25 friends who know little about me. Being popular is a joke, just to let you know.

Author:

I blog when I'm inspired. Cycling excels driving 🚲. . Snapping photos 📸 and creating lego MOCs are my passions. Donate to any of these special causes I put below.

4 thoughts on “Is Popularity that Big of a Deal?

  1. Yeah, I get this…

    I’m friends with a group of people who aren’t “the cool kids” of my grade, but they’re still really kind and understanding. Better to have fewer closer friends than many that don’t know you well at all, as you said.

    Sometimes I wonder what my life would have been like if I was part of the popular crowd. I don’t think I would like it very much.

    -T

    Liked by 1 person

  2. i really like your conclusion – good post:

    I wouldn’t want to popular, even if I had a choice. I always ask myself why people want to be popular. I would rather have one or two friends that are trustworthy, mentally strong, loyal, kind, funny, and smart to me than 25 friends who know little about me. Being popular is a joke, just to let you know.

    Question is, once we know that, can we live like that? Can you?

    Keep on
    love brett fish

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what's on your inquisitive mind...

